Schlinger Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Building by Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Architecture, Education

Schlinger Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Building of California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California designed by architecture studio Bohlin Cywinski Jackson.

Schlinger Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Building of California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California designed by architecture studio Bohlin Cywinski Jackson. Bohlin Cywinski Jackson has offices in Wilkes-Barre, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Seattle and San Francisco. The new Schlinger Laboratory integrates chemistry, chemical engineering, and chemical science with other forefront areas of science and engineering research at Caltech.

The facility provides a building that fits within Caltech’s culture while providing a space that can accommodate the variety of lab types necessary for chemical synthesis, chemical engineering, and biochemistry research. Design decisions intentionally focus on providing a humane environment for current faculty, while advancing the Institute’s recruiting efforts.

Interactive and social spaces are celebrated to purposefully make the facility inviting and welcoming. By maximizing views from lab spaces, the facility also enhances productivity and quality of life for researchers and students. The building contains lab space, conference and office space, and Quiet Work Areas.

Research laboratories are designed for maximum flexibility and safety, fostering interaction among researchers and the chemical sciences at Caltech, helping define the state-of-the-art for many years to come. Photos: Hewitt Garrison Architectural Photography

2011 Design Award
Society of American Registered Architects (SARA)
2011 Community Impact Award
Los Angeles Business Council
2010 Honor Award
AIA Pittsburgh

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, founded in 1965, has offices in Wilkes-Barre, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Seattle and San Francisco. The firm’s work is known for exceptional design, for its commitment to the particularity of place and user, and for an extraordinary aesthetic based on a quiet rigor which is both intellectual and intuitive. The firm’s work ranges greatly in scale and circumstance. Its architecture is alive to the subtleties of place — man-made or natural, to the varied natures of people, to the sensibilities of individuals, to the character of institutions, and to the rich possibilities of materials and the means of construction. Bohlin Cywinski Jackson has received more than 510 regional, national and international awards for design. In 1994, the practice received the Architecture Firm Award from the American Institute of Architects. The firm’s work is published regularly in professional journals worldwide. Principals of Bohlin Cywinski Jackson are Peter Q. Bohlin – FAIA, Jon C. Jackson – FAIA, Frank W. Grauman – FAIA – LEED AP, William D. Loose – AIA, Cornelius J. Reid III – AIA, Karl A. Backus – AIA, Gregory R. Mottola – AIA, C. Roxanne Sherbeck – AIA, Robert E. Miller – FAIA – LEED AP, Raymond S. Calabro – AIA.

Senior Associates
Michael Conner
James Bell, AIA
Allen Kachel, AIA, LEED AP
Michael Maiese, AIA
Joseph Bridy, AIA
Terrence Wagner, AIA
Lee Alison Clark, AIA
Darrell Kauric, AIA
Sergei Bischak, AIA
Charles Cwenar, AIA
Rosa Sheng, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Natalie Gentile, RA, LEED AP
David Andreini, AIA
Theresa Thomas, AIA
Kelly Vresilovic, AIA, LEED AP
Monica Barton, AIA, LEED AP
David Murray, AIA
Patreese Martin, AIA, LEED AP
Steven Chaitow, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Gabriel Hodge, AIA
Robert Aumer, Jr., AIA
Brian Yachyshen, AIA
Jeffrey Lew, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Wolfram Arendt, AIA, LEED AP
Thomas Kirk, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Dana Reed, AIA, LEED AP
Denis Schofield, AIA, LEED AP
Christopher Orsega, AIA
Tina Lindinger, AIA
Josh Keller, RA
Christian Evans, AIA
Daniel Lee, AIA, LEED AP BD+C
Kirk Hostetter, AIA, LEED AP

Andrew Moroz, AIA
Alfred Dragani, AIA, LEED AP
Douglas Speckhard, AIA, LEED AP
Nicholas Snyder, AIA
Jeffrey Jones, RA
Matthew Plecity, RLA
Jon Funari, AIA
Maria Danielides, AIA, LEED AP
Christopher Moore, AIA, LEED AP
Erin Roark, AIA, LEED AP
Jennifer Varner
Jesse Pointon, AIA
Renee Sutterer, RA
Jonathan Hayes
Brigham Keehner, AIA, LEED AP
Jeremy Evard, AIA
David Miller, AIA
Peter Streibig
Todd Howard, AIA
Chris Sutterer, RA
Rachel Lehn, RA
Christian Kittelson, AIA
Jason Morris, AIA, LEED AP

İstanbul / Türkiye